The way you look at her

Well, it’s a long read, but worth it. Maybe. 😛

Quiet and reserved I was before,
You became the chitchat of my life.
We became like bread and spread,
Gelling well together without much strife.

Oh, I was so in love with you then,
I would walk down miles for your smile!
You had become a part of me, I felt,
The lifeline whom anytime I could dial.

But then, someone else caught your eye,
The bread had got a cheese slice!
A million thoughts crossed my mind,
My insecurity was back on the rise!

Just another girl, yet another phase,
I thought, even this would pass by.
Jealousy, possessiveness – out in the bin.
Deep inside I knew, all of it was just a lie!

My same stupid jokes failed to cheer you up,
Her memes were the new sexy!
Sand kept slipping through my fingers,
As coca-cola was getting replaced by Pepsi.

A pic with her pops up as your profile pic,
A drive with her gets hyped on your wall.
And there I am, just another name,
In the long list of friends, is that all?

I try hard not to over-react,
After all, you ain’t my boyfriend.
But my heart is sinking deep in there,
Is the sun really setting? Is this THE END?

Never did I raise my voice, let alone my hand,
Prince charming you are to me!
But her temper, her tantrums, her tiffs,
Have made you run miles; made you swim the sea!

Maybe, I ain’t the one you want in your life,
Maybe, I am not just your type.
But how can my heart stop its beating?
How can I just make you a left swipe?

No, no! That ain’t happening, not today.
You aren’t a memory that’ll easily fade away.
Wish I could correct my mistakes,
Wish I could turn back time and just replay!

Oh! How do I live when my heart is dying,
Slowly being pulled into this marsh of jealousy.
Hand-in-hand, you’re both watching a movie,
And I’m watching you from the corner helplessly.

I can never hope for you to not be happy,
And neither can I blame you for such a plight.
It’s just how destiny has unrolled,
I am the lone wolf howling in this dark night.

Running away is the only option left,
But it’s not easy to forget these past years.
Unwillingly, I try to put on a happy-face,
Beneath this mask, I gulp down my tears.

Moving on for me, will never be easy,
It’s indeed the best way out, that’s true.
But I only hope that someday you’ll listen to
that part of my heart which beats for you.

Things have changed ever since,
And they won’t be like they previously were.
I only wished you would look at me
Just the way you look at her!

Well, not all endings are good you see. Inspired by Jealous by Labyrinth

Leave a comment